Primary School

Lower and Upper Primary

Primary level is divided into lower and upper primary. Lower primary consists of Grade 1, 2, & 3 while upper Primary is Grades 4, 5, & 6.

Learning areas in lower primary are:

  • Kiswahili Language Activities or Kenya Sign Language (for deaf learners)
  • English Language Activities
  • Mathematical Activities
  • Environmental Activities
  • Religious Education Activities
  • French
  • Computer studies

Learning areas for upper primary are:

  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Kiswahili
  • Science and Technology
  • Social Studies 
  • Creative arts
  • Agriculture and Nutrition
  • Christian Religious Education
  • French
  • Computer studies

CBC Assessments

Assessments are integral in the education process. They help teachers and parents in understanding a learner's weakness and potential and coming up with strategies to assist the learner to improve.

Types of Assessments

  1. Classroom assessment: This is a continuous assessment and is carried out at the entire basic level of education. The teacher develops the assessment tools.
  2. School-based assessment: This assessment starts from Grade 3 to Grade 6 in primary. KNEC develops and uploads the tools for this assessment on its website. The teacher downloads the tools from the website and administers them to the learners.
  3. Summative assessment: The National Assessment to mark the end of primary education is carried out at Grades 6 which is called Kenya Primary School Education Assessment (KPSEA).

How to view your child's details on CBA Portal and support him or her. 

Click the PDF below:

How are assessments records tracked and maintained in CBA?

Assessment records are maintained both at school and at KNEC. Learners are captured in the KNEC system every year at Grade 3 onwards with each learner provided with a Unique Personal Identification (UPI) number, called KNEC ASSESSMENT NUMBER.

Parents are required to provide birth certificate of the learner to facilitate registration.

What happens to the records of a learner transferring schools?

Transfer of learners is done by the Sub County Director of Education or done online by the school and will be allowed to take place at Grade 3, 4, 5 in primary.

A parent wishing to transfer a pupil to our school in upper classes should provide the KNEC Assessment Number.

Admissions are ongoing from Grades 1 to 6. Click here to apply!